An End to the Silence

It’s been over a year since I have posted anything on this blog.  And there’s a reason.  I want to tell you that time got away from me, that I was busy and the blog was forgotten, but that is not actually the truth.  Time did get away from me, but I did think about the blog and writing occasionally. I just couldn’t bring myself to write.  I wanted to be honest when I wrote, and I was finding life in a situation that I didn’t want to share with anyone.  The past year and a half have been difficult.  Between a ten month deployment and parenting challenges the year had a lot of ups and downs.  I tried to come to terms with just not having time to write, but I knew that wasn’t the case.  After all we make time for the things we want to do.   I just could not bring myself to write, to share about life in those moments.  Perhaps many of us have a time like that in life.  A time when we kind of cling to the familiar and the few people around us.  That was me.  Just hanging on at times, thankful for friends and family who made life a little easier.

I don’t want you to think that life was terrible or a major catastrophe happened around me.  It wasn’t, and it didn’t.  Life was just hard.  And exhausting.  In my frustration and exhaustion I couldn’t write.  Unfortunately I couldn’t even share the joyous things and that’s what makes me the most sad about that time.  But now, it’s time to end the silence.  It’s time to write again, to open up and stop shutting others out.  Life happens, sometimes its hard, but I’m learning that there is always joy, every day.  So whether you read for my deep insights (don’t laugh!) or to keep up with my family, I hope you will drop by every now and then to see what we are up to.  I promise, it’s going to be interesting over the next few months!

1 thought on “An End to the Silence

  1. I think that happens anytime there is a big change and being a single parent for five months can really take you to your knees! Look forward to reading more.

    Like

Leave a comment